The Stars Aligned

Today I had an oddly awesome workout.  It started with stretching.  All my muscles felt limber instead of their typical stiffness.  I was able to stretch further than I ever have.   Part of me thought it was because I was trying to show off to all the people in the stretching room, but there’s no way I could fake that flexibility.  I wonder if it is because I didn’t do strength training on Monday.  After 15 minutes of stretching I was ready for week 5 day 2 of couch 2 5k.

I figured it would be the same as day one with three 5 minute runs with 3 minutes of walking in between.  After my five minute warmup I looked at the time for my next interval run and it started at 8:00!!!  Clearly I forgot my previous post about checking your workout before you get going.  An 8 minute run.  I stopped running and paused the program…then I read the full description of my workout for that day.  5 minute warmup, check…8 minute run (ouch!), 5 minute walk (I can handle that ;), another 8 minute run (SEriouSLY?!?!), and 5 minute cool down.  Phew….I gathered my courage and started running and pressed resume on my program.

Somehow I ran between 5.5 and 6.2 mph for 8 minutes.  Sure my knee had a few twinges, I was breathing like a chain smoker, and had a side stitch coming on.  I could not believe how easy it was to keep up that speed for that long.  Yes, it did hurt, but I did it.  I was breathing pretty heavy for the entire 5 minute walk, but my heart rate was still ok, and the next 8 minutes I ran between 5.0 and 6.2 mph, with about 10 seconds above 7 mph :).  Glorious and painful 10 seconds.

Needless to say I was a hot sweaty mess, but I was proud and impressed with my body’s ability to push and perform.  Not really sure how to make that happen again, but I will try to figure it out.  I did run later in the day at 4:45 pm after a day of working at a desk.  I did have some smart pop popcorn too, instead of my usual greek yogurt before a workout.  Maybe the extra carbs helped.  Haha!

Leave a Reply

